Bond to lead new energy board

Leeanne Bond
Chair of the new Queensland Energy System Advisory Board Leeanne Bond. | Photo: Supplied

A Queensland engineer who helped shape some of the nation’s largest energy projects is the chair of a new board which will advise on the state’s transition to renewables.

Leeanne Bond, an Independent Non-Executive Director on Aurecon Limited, Entry Limited and CRC One Basin Limited and until recently Snowy Hydro Limited, will head the Queensland Energy System Advisory Board (QESAB).

State Energy Minister Mick de Brenni said QESAB would be filled with leading energy experts and provide critical advice on Queensland’s energy transformation.

Minister de Brenni said Ms Bond was a Queensland professional engineer who had helped shape some of the nation’s most important green energy projects.

He said she was an expert in energy and resources, technology and innovation, infrastructure and governance of major capital projects, had been an advisor to a broad range of sectors and had substantial board experience.

Minister de Brenni said the board would play a key role in providing advice and recommendations as part of the Queensland SuperGrid Infrastructure Blueprint review and update processes, ensuring that the state was on the optimal infrastructure pathway to ensure:

  • Renewable energy targets were met.
  • Safe, secure, reliable electricity supply.
  • The long-term cost of electricity for Queensland consumers was minimised.

“I’m looking forward to working closely with the new board, as we continue our energy transformation,” he said.

“The inaugural board is bolstered by seven exceptional individuals with a vast array of expertise.”

The new Board includes:

  • Leeanne Bond (Chair): Has over 30 years’ experience in the Australian energy sector, including 20 years in Board Chair and Advisor, and Independent Non-Executive Company Director roles. Ms Bond is an Independent Non-Executive Director on Aurecon Limited, Entry Limited and CRC One Basin Limited.
  • Mark Carkeet:  An experienced solicitor and consultant for the energy and resources sector working on projects in Australia, the Pacific and east Asia. Mr Carkeet is a consultant for Minter Ellison and has provided advice to government on strategic energy initiatives including the Priority Transmission Investment framework and Renewable Energy Zone framework.
  • Peter Price:  Has over 40 years’ experience in the Queensland electricity industry. Mr Price is Chief Engineer of Energy Queensland, is on the Board of Energy Skills Queensland, is a member on the Board of TAFE Queensland and is a member of the Australian Energy Market Commission Reliability Panel. Mr Price previously served as an Executive General Manager at Energex.
  • Jo Sheppard: Has spent the past 20 years working in roles that support Queensland’s regional communities across multiple sectors, and most recently is focused on agriculture and co-existence with energy projects. Ms Sheppard is the Chief Executive Officer of Queensland Farmers Federation, and has worked to develop the Queensland Renewable Energy Landholder Toolkit for landholders considering hosting a project on their property.
  • Professor Paul Simshauser: Has over 30 years’ experience in Queensland’s electricity sector working in ASX-listed, private and government-owned companies, and in the public sector. Professor Simshauser is the Chief Executive Officer of Powerlink and is a part-time professor of economics at the Centre of Applied Energy Economics and Policy Research with Griffith University.
  • Leann Wilson: A Bidjara/Kara-Kara and South Sea Islander descendant and is a recognised experienced executive, business owner and First Nations leader working with businesses, government, and communities to facilitate collaboration between Indigenous Australians and the energy and resources sector.
  • Kathryn Summers: An experienced power control engineer with over 25 years’ electrical, market and regulatory experience. Ms Summers was awarded the Professional Electrical Engineer of the Year in 2020 and is dedicated to bringing about an orderly transition to a net zero future.